Remove extension line from radius segment

rayhawk

Hi guys, I am new to Inventor here, so please be kind. I am having a problem getting rid of the radius extension line the program creates while making my 2d print. In ACAD, I can simply turn the Extension line off and it will get rid of the extra arc and move the leader down to the radius itself. I would like to do the same thing in Inventor. Thanks. Check out the picture below on the top semi-circle to see what I am talking about.

SSRadiusextension-1.jpg

If you drag the dimension around at some point the arrow should pop to the arc rather than the extension.

In some of my very busy drawings I don't have that option. Even in this one I would have to put the semi-circle dimension callout in an odd position. Thanks for the suggestion though.

Hi,

I zoom in fairly close to the circular object and then pick it for the radius/diameter dimension, zoom out and place your dim'n text where you want. You may have to try this a few times to get the correct effect that you want. I seem to get the effect that you are after with this method, also look at your Edit Dimension Styles.

BillB

In some of my very busy drawings I don't have that option.

As BillB indicated - if you do it right the dimension will be in exactly the same location you have it now - only the arrowhead location will be moved from the extension to the actual arc.

• 11 months later...

Having same problem as rayhawk. I tried the suggestion but I still get the extended radius extension line as shown in rayhawk's original post. What am I still doing wrong? Thanks for your help

Having same problem as rayhawk. I tried the suggestion but I still get the extended radius extension line as shown in rayhawk's original post. What am I still doing wrong? Thanks for your help