I know what laptop the question is 17" wxga 1440X900 VS uxga 1920X1200

bigguynail

I am new to Autocad and I build homes as a general contractor. As I get older figured I better learn new skills.

Know that I will get a new workstation laptop with 17" screen driven by a dedicated 512Mb. to 1Gb. Quadro or Firepro graphics card.

The question I am trying to resolve is screen resolution most laptops of this class offer screens in WXGA. 1440X900 and UXGA. 1920X1200

Would I find the extra resolution of upgrading to 1920X1200 useful on a 17" screen?

How useful would it be?

Thank You

I would get the laptop with the UXGA display and set it up to use 1280x1024 if you're doing CAD related work. Then after you day is through crank up the resolution to the max, pop in a DVD and enjoy the show. Oh, and it's your turn to bring the popcorn.

UXGA is not 1920X1200. 1920X1200 is WUXGA which should be run at full res 1920X1200 just like any other LCD display. Unlike CRTs, LCDs running at lower res give poor results because pixels are spread unevenly.

Might be an idea to first go try out 17" notebooks or screens at a store to check if you can work with WUXGA - some find the menus and text too small for constant use.

Most highend laptops will drive a large external screen as well as the one built into the laptop itself, possibly through a docking station.

HD 1080 is a newly emerging size:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Vector_Video_Standards2.svg

SXGA (1280x1024) has a 5:4 aspect ratio

WXGA (1440x900) and WUXGA (1920x1200) both have a 16:10 aspect ratio.

If SXGA were selectable for screens of either resolution it would need to stretch to cover the wider screen (with consequent distortion) or leave an unused portion beside the active area.

It's similar to the problems faced fitting TV broadcasts to both old 4:3 and newer 16:9 receivers.

First Thank You