AutoCAD to model my home

insomniac

Hello,

I'm currently studying at University so I have access to all of the AutoCAD software at the moment. In time I will be using CAD software as part of my course but until then I would like to 'get my feet wet' with AutoCAD by using it to model my home.

I'm not sure if 'model my home' is the correct term but hopefully if I explain myself you'll be able to work out what I mean for yourself and correct me if neccessary.

I would like to (as accurately as I can with the tools I have available) measure my entire home and garden and recreate it on my computer. When I do this in my mind I imagine creating something like scale 'blueprints' showing all of the detailed measurements I have taken and a 3D representation of those 'blueprints'.

Once this is done I would like to be able to take the completed digital version of my home and use that as a template to see how modifications to the home and garden would look.

I do not plan on using the CAD software as a tool to actually plan any real-world modifications, it is simply a 'hobby with purpose' the purpose being getting me used to CAD software.

My question is this - is there a version of AutoCAD that would be suited to this task?

Thanks for taking the time to read this,

Ins.

TLDR: Can you recommend a version of AutoCAD to use to accurately recreate an existing building in 2D and 3D?

Do the terms plan and elevations have any meaning to you?

Showing a house in relationship to the land it sits upon is called a plot plan.