Holes around an extruded tube

barrowfordred

Hi All, I'm just starting out using Solidworks and I've hit a problem.

How do I use the hole wizard to define a set of holes around an extruded tube AND set the start point as 45° from the top dead centre (if that makes sense).

I'd add a picture if I could!

I can use the wizard to position the 1st hole but I find it impossible to edit the sketch and add the 45° dimension, I get the error message stating the sketch is over defined and the dimension cannot be changed.

Do the holes around the tube follow a path, or are they simply revolved around the tube?

Locating holes with the hole wizard can be a daunting task. I have added a file that I think is what you are trying to do. I first drew my circle on the top plane and extruded it using the midplane option. I did this so my top plane would be in the center of my tube. Next I created a sketch on the top plane that had a reference line at 45degrees which was coincident with the edge of the tube. I then used this sketch to create a work plane. That is the key(and there are other ways to do it). You need to have a planar reference to place your points on. That can be the face of a part, but when you are dealing with a round part you should create a plane. Next I made a circular array of that 1 hole.

Let me know if this is what you are trying to do.

HolesExtrudedTube.zip

Thanks for that, however I cannot open the file "Future Version" I guess I should have said version 2008.

It certainly sounds similar to the way I tried it. But I had difficulty because I couldn't place a point on a point or something like that.

I'll go through your instructions and give it a go, thanks again.

However, the whole driving force behind Solidworks is smart dimensions and in this instance it appears to be impossible to angularly dimension the feature!

Edited by barrowfordred