New career in CAD

sam g

Hi Guys

Really sorry if I am asking a question which has already been posted.

I have a degree in electronics and after years of trying to scrape around trying to find work, am hoping to venture in to the world of Computer aided Design, which I have been wanting to learn more about for ages. I have visited many career websites but thought it would be nice to hear the thoughts from the "people in the know".

Can you tell me what the pros and cons are, of this career; Cad Drafters, CAD Technicians etc?

With experience in the Electrical and Electronics industry from domestic/Industrial design and installation to Manufacturing process engineering would you see any particual area of the field I would be most suited? I know that this question depends on exact experience but general answers great.

Are there many jobs and in which areas would are there more opportunities?

I know it would depend on where you are located but what kind of money can you expect as you move up through the experience ranks?

I ahve loads more questions but if anyone can give me any feedback on these that would be fantastic.

Many Thanks.

Actually I'm trying to talk my daughter into this field. Personally I can't think of a better way to make a living. You earn what you are worth and constantly grow with the technology. I've been in it for over 20 years and now work from home a command a great income. Personally I think 3D is the way to go as the industry is heading that way but few are privy.

you can't go wrong Sam, you just need to get your foot in the door.

I wouldn't look at CAD as a career, your Electro-Mechanical background is your career. Now you need to enhance that career with CAD. As for jobs I would look on Monster.com searching for various keywords to see which jobs seem to combine your knowledge with CAD.