How to use push/pull at a specified angle?

Posho91

Hi again folks,

Encountered another issue with my model, I have windows which i want to create above the ends of the beams on either side as in the picture, ive created the window boundary with lines then used push/pull to try to push the window spaces down, but since my roof is already pitched, the push/pull tool is going at the wrong angle as you can see. Is there a way to change the angle to stay on the z axis...or an alternative method? thanks.

acad prob 2.jpg

Press-pull will always extrude perpendicular from the profile. You can either angle your profile with the roof pitch or use dynamic ucs and draw your profile on the already angled surface.

KC

Set your ucs to desired plane before drawing the profile to presspull.

You might also investigate Sweep as it might be easier depending on your design intent.

interesting, can you comment on how to do this

im only 15 but ive been working with autocad for 2 years now,

ive worked on autocad 2002 i believe, and 2010 . at the moment i use autocad 2011,

what i used to do in this type of scenerio was that i got the measurements and created a line to mark the lenght and width, then i created a box using those lines and extruded to desired thickness

i know about

global illumination,

rendering settings

using solids tab for union, subtract, ahhhh *** i know "almost" everything on autocad 2010 and 2011 except working with layers, i dont know nothing about working with layers :(

"Almost" everything? Damn you're good.

But you know nothing about working with layers? Sorry. Go to the back of the class. The efficient use of Layers in AutoCAD is a fundamental every user should be well acquainted with.

Sorted this in the end using boxes sunk into the top of the roof, then subtract.

My laptop isnt coping very well though, i've got 4gb of ram but I have to save frequently and close/open ACad to flush the ram else i get 'out of ram' errors. Sigh...