Auto CAD to Inventor Transition

Secretagdan

I am glad the forums are up and running again.

To start, I am a CAD manager with a bit of experience with Auto CAD & managing a small manufacturing CAD department.

I started at a new company recently & upon my hiring I found out that they have the full Inventor suite. At the time of the purchase, the company was going to move to Inventor full board. The drafters all went to school, but for some reason Inventor was never fully implemented & everyone is still using the Vanilla Auto CAD.

Now I believe that part of the reason it never took hold was the Inventor Suite includes Auto CAD. This made it very easy to go back and use Auto CAD where it was convenient and with convenience nullified the use of Inventor in general.

We went to our Autodesk reseller & it appears that it is actually cheaper to stay with the Inventor licenses rather than down grading to the vanilla Auto CAD. So based on that decision my department will again make the switch to Inventor, to make use of the product.

With the time lines that we get for the majority of projects we need to produce construction documents in a very short order. Unfortunately because of the nature of this business I think that it would be very easy to fall in to the trap of doing what is convenient.

I have looked at Inventor in the past at my previous employer & I do see the benefits in using the new product. Once everyone is as proficient at Inventor as they are currently with Auto CAD, I think that my department as a whole will be more productive.

I have looked at educational recourses that will help us make the transition & I will soon make that decision. All of the people in my department are all on board for making the transition as well.