Utilizing AutoCAD's FIND feature in lisp routines?

Comatosis

Hello all,

I'm trying to come up with a lisp routine to do something I've been doing so far with the find feature. Essentially, I'm searching for a string of text in block attributes and in a single, somewhat large MTEXT object--large enough for its content to be split into multiple "type 3" group codes (sorry for the poor description, I'm a lisp noob :(). For those of you in construction design/drafting, I'm checking to make sure that I'm not missing any keyed notes or their references in my drawings.

The find feature gets me close to what I want, but ideally I'd like to be able to just spit out a table that tells me whether or not I'm missing keyed notes/references. I imagine there should be a way to replicate the functionality of Find in lisp such that I can tweak the code to suit my needs.

Unfortunately, I don't have any code to share at the moment because I'm home and all my stuff is at work. Plus, I started messing with lisp literally yesterday and am a complete novice. I might swing by the office later on and show you guys what I've been working on, but in the meantime I figured I'd check with the pros whether or not this is even doable in the first place.

Thanks in advance.

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Comatosis

• Lee Mac

• BlackBox

• irneb

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Comatosis, welcome to the CADTutor forums :beer:

A little overkill for your task, but you could use my Batch Find & Replace program which may be found here with the 'Search Only' option ticked to produce a report detailing the occurrences of your search strings.