Mechanical Engineering major...Inventor or Catia or Solidworks?

kingneptune117

I am a mechanical engineer, and i'm going to focus in aerospace. My ultimate goal is to work for boeing or some sort of aerospace company. I was considering learning AutoCAD but now I don't know. I heard programs like Inventor and Catia are more dominant in the aerospace/mechE industry. Help? I already have a bit of experience in inventor which I did enjoy more.

I would lean toward CATIA in that industry, second maybe Solidworks or ProE (CREO). Usually any MCAD experience will get you in the door.

Is Catia really that popular? And is there a free student version of it? Would learning Inventor still be a good idea or is it really that necessary I learn Catia?

Ok, I found the student version.

So, as a future mechanical/possibly aerospace engineer, what is more beneficial to learn.

Autodesk Inventor 2012 or Catia V5?

Thanks

Hey all,

Well, I don't know which one to learn. I'm going to be a sophomore soon in mechanical engineering (I would love to do work in the aerospace industry) and am trying to pick a program. I loved working with inventor in the past, and I haven't used either catia or solid works.

What will, down the road, be the most beneficial for me to have learned of these three?

For an aerospace engineer you should learn CATIA V5!

Airbus, for example, used CATIA to design the Airbus A380 model.

And this it's just aN inocent example of what's CATIA capable off.

Inventor is used by small to medium companies for small projects, because it is much cheaper than CATIA.

Don't limit yourself to just one. Learn as much as you can about all of them.