x,y,z

chiefxyz

2 years ago i graduated from a 1 year school with a diploma CAD at that time I wasn't to bad at drawing in 3d for a beginner. I used my view toolbar to make sure i was in the proper view. sometimes I would use orbit. now this may sound crazy to some of you but i didn't pay much attention to the ucs. and didn't get alot of instruction on it. now i'm in a refresher course that's suppose to prepare me for ship constructor.My instructor has me drawing the 3d object and using solview,and soldraw. Anyway ,Im using the 3 point command in the ucs toolbar. when I rotate the ucs lol, I become lost.and Im starting to fall behind. Is there a tutorial on this site that may help me or maybe someone who can explain it a little better.

AutoCAD 2012? You should be using the Dynamic UCS. There is a toggle for it on your Task Bar. You should also probably learn how to use the View Cube too. Manually changing the UCS is old school.

Welcome to the forum. :)

I agree with ReMark, DYNAMIC UCS (F6) is the way to go.

I prefer using my VIEW toolbar to the VIEWCUBE though, it is just as fast, and enables you to keep working from whichever orthogonal perspective you select(because it changes the UCS for you).

In 2012 VIEWBASE functionality was introduced, I wonder if your instructor has tried it?

It has been improved in 2013, although there are still some issues, it is really fast.

You should familiarize yourself with it, maybe you can show your instructor something new.

I have been using Autocad for 4 years, and rarely have to think about UCS, probably because I too favor using the VIEW toolbar, although I work in 3D all the time.

If you try DYNAMIC UCS you will see how drop dead simple it is.

Typically in Autocad you are able to work on the plane in your modelspace which is parallel to your screen.

http://www.cadtutor.net/tutorials/autocad/ucs.php

Polylines are only drawn on the X-Y plane.