Does GPU affect final render speed, or just preview speed w/ Vray 2.0 for 3DS Max?

vegascarnut

Total noob here. First post. I am running 3DS Max 2010 64 bit with a desktop tower. Tower was new in 2010.

Basic CPU/GPU is this:

• 2xE5520 processors (8 cores)

• Basic GeForce 250 graphics card.

• Win 7, 64 bit

I am converting from Brazil to Vray. I render mostly cars/garage type scenes.

I plan to add render slaves in the near future, because I realize that CPU cores are the key to final render speed. However, keep hearing about GPU render acceleration with Vray, but the only demo videos I see relate to preview render speed with shaders and the like.

I want to know if getting a KILLER Cuda/Open CL card like a Quadro 4000 QVC or something like that would increase FINAL render speed.

I do lots of still frame renders, and my ONLY concern is how to crank out those final renders faster.

Thanks!!

I do not believe the video card helps in final renders as much as pure processor power. In all my years of browsing forums and reading online, it's all about processor horsepower. Video accelerators help in real-time screen rendering, not final output rendering. I could be wrong tho.

Personally, a friend of mine owns a powerhouse computer. Dual CPU's, and they are ultra high-end Xeons that shows 24 cores, and he has 96GB of RAM. It has a decent video card, but nothing over $200 price range (gaming card at that). I have to admit, that rig he owns did a Revit walkthrough render in record breaking time compared to my workstation computer at work. I was beyond impressed. Hope this has some merit for your inquiry.

Thanks! For so long, all I've heard is CPU, CPU, CPU, but more and more I'm hearing about GPU being used for final renders. I still have to think that cores win in final render improvement, but what is confusing me are things like this:

I don't care about the shader preview render, which is awesome, but look at the final render speeds!! I'm still blown away by this.