VB to toggle viewports with layers

jaredmccullough

I have no experience with VB in Autocad but have used it quite often in other word based applications and know the abilities it has. I was wondering if it could be applied in Autocad as a Macro based function to key on MVIEW of certain things.

Background: Viewport 1 is assigned to "Viewport 1" Layer (the frame of it) I am currently applying the layer in which the viewport frame appears. I MVIEW = ON for that viewport frame and the viewport appears. This works vice versa as well. In general this is similar throughout the whole file. What I am wondering is if you could use a Macro that would function in a way that "Viewport" Layer is turned on that frame which is assigned to it appears. Then eIther by the turning on of the layer or by the frame appearing could this trigger MVIEW = ON and for the turning off of layer or frame disappearing MVIEW = OFF.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jaredmccullough

• BlackBox

A simple Reactor (read Event Handler) can do this... I know Visual LISP, and .NET can do this handily; not sure about VBA.

You'd want to hook the ObjectModified Event for the Layer Object, and based on the resultant change in status, modify the Viewport accordingly.

Blackbox thank you for the quick response.....As stated my knowledge with Autocad is limited. Could you provide me with a little more insight into how to approach this or learn about the applications you are discussing? Would you be my guide in the direction of what I am looking towards?

I would add though, since you're relatively new to AutoCAD, that most instead find it simpler to just make the Viewport's layer 'No Plot' then it can be on all of the time, and still not, well, 'plot'.

HTH