OLD autocad Newbie

jamesan

I have a version 2.5 autocad that I got at a yardsale. It came with 5 floppy discs. I loaded them onto my computer, and now can't figure out exactly how to get it started. I click on a dos file and it welcomes me, then in dos format ask about my graphics, and then about interrupts. I do not know anything about interrupts, so that is where I stop. Yes, after about 45 seconds I am already lost.

Is it worth my time to try and get this old version working or not? I have no previous experience with autocad, but it would come in very handy for me 4 or 5 times a year.

AutoCAD running under DOS. Haven't seen that in ages. Don't forget you'll probably have to tweak your Autoexec.bat and Config.sys files too and to really get it smokin' you may even have to run a memory manager like QEMM.

I think it would be a good exercise to try and get it running as a lark but even for the 4 or 5 times a year you might need it you would have to jump back into the DOS days of computers. Try to find a LT version of AutoCAD. I think I saw one on craiglist.hartford for $150. It was a 2005 version. Check under computers.

From the IRQ Book by Kate Chase published by McGraw-Hill copyright 1999:

"An interrupt acts as a signal to the CPU or processor to indicate that a device requires its attention."

What kind of computer would you be trying to run AutoCAD 2.5 on and what DOS version would you be using?

Are you familiar with DOS commands?

I am not familiar with Dos commands.

The book says that it runs under PC-dos, MS-dos, and unix operating systems.

The latest copyright of the reference manual is 1987.

If I can get this to run easily, I will use it. But I am beginning to think I should get something else.

I would run it under MS-DOS version 5.0 if you are considering trying it at all. Although, date-wise, you could probably run it under version 3.0 as well.

Have you tried running it on a Commodore 64?