How to sketch Turbo Actuator Flange?

segmo85

Hello fellow CAD tutor

Here I have a small project I’m working on. I’m new to all this cad design but I find it very enjoying, my cad skills is very basic but planning on improving. I’m currently using Auto CAD 2012.

What I have problem with, is figuring out how to sketch this flange on cad so I can get it to a laser cut. Here I have uploaded some pictures and hopefully give you guys a good idea to what I would like to achieves. Pic 1 shows how the actuator fitted to flange, problem there is that the actuator rod is not pointing in the right direction, so I’m having this trouble getting full swing to actuator flap. So what I’ve done is by holding actuator with my hand it gives me a rough idea where the flange should sit, shown here in Pic 2. Now my big question is to how would I work out my angle? Position of holes? And so on. So I can create this flange on to sketch. If someone could give me some sort of advice and guidance to how I should take this approach will be much appreciate

Edited by segmo85

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• segmo85

• ReMark

• Dana W

• zaphod

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

The first thing that comes to mind is the word "calipers". The second is "steel machinist's rule".

3D scan the object and bring it into AutoCAD as a point cloud to create a 3D model? Derive the 2D view(s) from the 3D model.

Yes, I'm aware you would like to create a new flange but the mounting holes for the bolts aren't going to change are they? Start with a drawing of the existing flange then modify it to create a new flange. Does that not make sense to you?

I think I would modify the bolt pattern to get reasonably close and use a commercial ball joint (rod end) connector on the end to accommodate slight misalignment. You would need something like that anyway since the actuator appears to be linear and the "flap" has radial travel.