Filling up voids: when mating no longer helps

jpolihro

Dear All,

I am trying to fill up the void seen in the pictures. The void is between 2 solids which are mated

and are constrained so the void can't be filled by rotation of one of the bodies.

The crack is long and narrow and I don't have an idea how to "grow" one of the solids into the other.

Filling surfaces and forming a closed volume also seems quite difficult to me (next to impossible).

Perhaps someone can help here (having in mind I am quite new to SolidWorks).

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

now I'm now to SolidWorks too, so this might be a silly question, but why don't you just modify the part?, If the 2 parts are supposed to be mated together, then I would think it is the part that needs to be modified - not some workaround added in the assembly.

Jesper

Hi Jesper,

I agree with you, and I tried. My parts come from custom programmed curves, which are used to create sweep surfaces, which are then lofted. It is very hard (to me) to match the parts, hence I need a quick fix.

I tried to build a simple part file which illustrates my problem. I am trying to connect the ends of the ring.

mismatched_ring.zip

if they are separate parts you can hide one of them. and you can extract the edges by creating a sketch(using the face of your part as the plane) and select your line, and use convert entities button. you will be asked if you want a single line or a closed sketch. do this for both sides and use those for your loft. ill open your zip file when i get to work tomorrow.

yes!

would you know how to select the faces for the loft (when the gap between them is very narrow)

The loft will only work if it is one part as the one you have attached. If there are multiple possible 'items' for selection available at the point then you can use the "Select Other" on the context menu, it will give you a list of other possible items for the given point.

selectother.png