Questions regarding rotating & moving solid models in Inventor 11 Professional

john2009

Hi everyone,

I'm new to inventor and I have recently been using the program & going through some materials in an effort to familiarize myself with the program.

The following is very basic, but I have not found a way to do it yet.

1. If I have a part file open and I have a single individual solid model part I'm working on, is there a way to rotate the part about a UCS axis and/or about a base point on the part by a certain number of degrees ?

The basic rotate tool is OK for viewing, but it rotates the entire UCS with the part, and it does not seem to allow you to rotate the part about a UCS axis or a base point on the part via a certain number of degrees, or allow you to rotate the part independently of the UCS, in case you simply want to change the orientation of the part relative to the UCS.

In AutoCAD, you just select a UCS rotation axis or a base point on the part, and then enter the number of degrees you want to rotate. It seems inventor must have a similar feature since this is such a basic and useful feature.

2. If I have the solid model part within an assembly, how would I then rotate the part about a base point on the part or about a UCS axis by a certain number of degrees ? In AutoCAD, you just select the UCS axis or part base point, enter the number of degrees and you’re done.

3. I have also not seen a basic move-command in Inventor where you can just select a solid model by a base point, and then move it to another point within the drawing space, or to another point within an assembly or in contact with another part at a specific location on the part. Being able to select a part, either by itself or within an assembly, and then move the part via relative or absolute coordinates, seems like a very basic and *almost* necessary function. I'm hoping that I have overlooked these functions as it seems they must surely be present in Inventor.