Lisp needed: paste any object from clipboard into place of selected any other objects

Ryszard

Hello, I am not very experienced in lisp, can do some simple scripts but this one will be a hardship for me, and I am sure sth very easy for You guys.

I have got a blueprint of one floor of building which has many doors represented by one named block with additional dynamic attributes (non standard).

I need to replace half of these doors with other named block (leaving the other half intact) which doesn't have any additional attributes.

These doors have different sizes (setting by additional block attributes) and different orientations. I am at point where I am able to select (with custom QSELECT) every door I am interested to replace with new one. So i have got a selection set.

I need a script which just paste any object from clipboard (anything) in place of any door in the selection set. The rest - removing old ones, setting proper orientation - i will do manually. About point of paste - let's paste from clipboard in the basepoint of existent block in the selection set.

Or maybe there is such built-in function in ACAD2010?

Can you better identify/narrow down the selection parameters of the existing various sized/orientation doors that need to be replaced? Or are you planning on manually selecting each and every door that needs to be replaced? Or are they all on a unique layer or with another unique indentifier?

You can select a block and one attribute retrieving the name and attribute value form one pick this would then be used to make your selection set. You could then add a new block erasing the old one. One issue and you have touched on it is if the new block does not have a common insert point will create some problems. You need to use a combination of ssget and nentselp so you can get block name and Attribute value.

This took a couple of seconds to find, I have not looked at what was posted but may be a good starting point.