Scale Entire Drawing

therock005

I'm a Land Surveyor and when i draw topographic plans i always use the same scale. I Draw 1:1 since surveyed objects like buildings, boundaries are measured in their true coordinates and only objects like texts, tables, legends, blocks etc need to be scaled accordingly.

This time around i messed up since the drawing is too big for the scale most oftenly used (1/200) and ends up needing more than A0 size paper to plot. So the logical thing to do is scale it down to 1/500. I didnt use annotation scales or anything, so how can i easily perform this 1/200 -> 1/500 so all objects texts-dimensions, and everything scales accordingly without any  snafus

If you need to scale up the texts, tables, legends, blocks etc to be readable at 1:500 the scale factor would be 2.5. Check the Autocad Customisation Forum and see if there is lisp that could help (provided you're not using an LT version).  

2 hours ago, therock005 said:

How adept are you with lisp? There is a good guide Here

I have attached a copy of Lee's code from the above link, which I have adapted to provide a prompt for the ssget. Test it first to see if  it does what you want. It will ignore anything on a locked layer.

ScaleAboutCentre.lsp

Edited by dlanorh
Spelling

If you are a land surveyor, then in no circumstances should you scale your drawing, particularly NOT with the "ScaleAboutCentre" lisp. Your coordinate system will be lost, and for surveyors, that is a capital crime.

Although your drawing is too large to be on an A0 at 1 to 200, how much is it too large? In the past, I have managed to put a drawing onto an A0 at 1 to 250 scale, and that entails no scaling.

• Like 1

19 minutes ago, eldon said:

If you are a land surveyor, then in no circumstances should you scale your drawing, particularly NOT with the "ScaleAboutCentre" lisp. Your coordinate system will be lost, and for surveyors, that is a capital crime.