Is possible to convert a hollow solid (shell) in a sheet metal?

estebanoliveros

Hi group,

I a have a solid shell, I have created it using the Shell command in a 3D Solid. I need to know if is possible to convert that shell in a sheet metal, to unfold it and then cut in a laser cnc machine.

Please do not hesitate to ask me any question that you may have.

Esteban.

hollow_to_sheet_metal.jpg

esteban. I dont know if inventor can do that. I have done what you are asking in solidworks before. Hopefully someone with more knowledge on the subject can chime in.

can i ask why you didnt model it using the sheetmetal application? Looks like it would be simple to model.

dear Shift,

thanks for your answer. Really I am not an expert in Inventor. So seems to me that I do not include an important paragraph.

"please, if someone can help me teaching it with sheet metal in inventor, any help will be welcomed"

Esteban,

"please, if someone can help me teaching it with sheet metal in inventor, any help will be welcomed"

Looks like a trivially easy part, but you forgot to attach what you have so far. It would save some work for anyone willing to help if you at least attached the work you have done.

I have done too many of these that turn into a game of 20 questions to get down to the real problem statement of the design intent.

Sheet metal is an easy process with that piece. I strongly suggest you look at the tutorials loaded as a first step. Explaining it here would be a second effort. I also would suggest you take a look at JD links. He has provided his valuable knowledge.

If you work through these and still do not understand, or have a question a long the way we are all more than happy to help.