PDFIMPORT Not Working As Planned

Bill Tillman

I have a PDF file which I want to import into AutoCAD. Trouble is some lines in portions of the page come in okay but others don't. When I set the Use Raster Image the lines which didn't come in are now there but there on a white background. And the lines which did come in when not using the Raster image option are now not present. When I import another page in the same PDF file everything comes in fine. ???

I've had some experience with this in the past and it appears that it all goes back to who originally published the drawings and how they were published. Is there some method to do an end run around this? One would think that if you can see the lines in the PDF they should be able to come in with PDFIMPORT command.

Edited by Bill Tillman

A drawing output to PDF by AutoCAD usually works fine as long as text width hasn't been modified and you have the correct fonts selected. I've also had trouble with linetypes. Scanned drawings don't come out very well.

PDF files are just wrappers for other content. That content can include vectors, fonts, images, etc. Vectors and fonts will generally import OK, but images will either import as images, or not at all. You can't make vectors out of pixels (well, at least not without a raster to vector application).