AutoCAD 2019 - Polar not locking after data entry

Hey everyone, I have a strange question. I've been using AutoCAD for over 20 years and typically consider myself an expert, but this one has me stumped.

I use polar tracking instead of ortho. In previous versions of the software, if you entered a command like move, copy, line, etc and then entered a number the direction would lock. For instance, if I draw a line with Polar Tracking on I could make it any angle I want, and it would lock to certain polar angles that I've set (90 degrees, 45 degress, etc). But if I entered a number the line would lock in the polar direction I was going. So I could draw a line, start typing the number "2" and if the polar was at 90 degrees when I typed that first number, I could move the mouse wherever I wanted and the direction would stay locked to 90 degrees until i finished typing my numbers and hit enter, then it would unlock again. A few years ago I upgraded my computer to AutoCAD 2019 and that function was missing. I assumed they had just changed it, but I have another instance of AutoCAD 2022 and it works normally there (normally in this instance being the lock after data entry method I mentioned). I've searched and searched and cannot find what setting is causing this, but it is frustrating me.