...layer state manager query

themanonthebus

Thanks all for recent help!

I'm a landscape architect & develop larger scale 2D models on AutoCAD 2019 - lots of xrefs, text, polylines & hatches on around 50 layers. Typically my outputs are series of A1 paperspace tabs/drawings using the same xref-ed base layer, then for example developing; 1) a masterplan, 2) hard landscape strategy, 3) soft landscape strategy & 4) level details.

Using this example, I would normally generate 4 paper space tabs 01, 02, 03 & 04 & then in model space, turn the appropriate layers on or off to create the appropriate drawing. Once everything is set up for 01 in model space I go to 'Layer States Manage', create a new layer eg 01 Masterplan & save. I do the same for 03, 03 & 04 so they all have their separate layers turned on & off. If I make edit or make amendments I 'update' in LSM. Once everything is set, I print to PDF from the paperspace.

Is there a faster way of doing this where I'm not having to shuttle between model & paper space, ie is there a way to assign layers to be on/off in a particular viewport in paperpsace, so I dont have to remember to re-save each time as I shuttle between the different spaces?

Hope that makes sense!!

In a viewport you use VPLAYER, viewport layer.

Just go to the layer display and scroll across to the right and you will see viewport settings for layers you can freeze a layer Vpfreeze even change its color. So turn on all layers in model and use the freeze option, a manual way is VPLAYER. 

image.thumb.png.b4a173f86f0238380a3262a91dba4457.png

Edited by BIGAL
  • Like 1

Create and save your LAYER SNAPSHOTS through each of your

ACTIVE VIEWPORTS, one at a time,  instead of in MODELSPACE.

Edited by Dadgad
clarification
  • Agree 1