Is AutoCAD 2023 Better For This Type Of 3D Modeling?

JohaKDesigns

Hello. I'm a student trying to learn Rhino but I am finding the User Interface very difficult to learn.

I want to CAD model rounded stuff similar to what I see here:

https://fastvawt.blogspot.com/2023/01/worlds-first-patented-high-rpm.html?m=0

Screenshot_20230113-210234_Drive.thumb.jpg.ea843d04a91d7ca38b694dadf35e6941.jpg

I have been told that AutoCad has gotten better for 3D modeling recently.

Should I try AutoCAD for stuff like this?

Is it easier to learn than Rhino which I find really difficult to use?

Thanks!

If you have access to Autocad then by all means, give it a try. I personally don't like doing 3D work in Autocad though. I've never used Rhino but I have used other similar programs like Fusion360 which I found to be easier and more flexible than Autocad. That's just my opinion though. Working with 3D programs is all about finding the one that works best for you, so I always recommend trying different programs and see which one you like best. But having said that, all programs are going to have a learning curve. They will all be difficult at first, until you get used to the interface and how the tools work, so I wouldn't give up on Rhino just yet. If you keep watching tutorials and practicing it will start getting easier.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

Basically, AutoCAD is widely famous as a 2D drafting tool due to its mastery of 2D modeling. It does not mean that we can not use this tool for 3D modeling. AutoCAD has some standard 3D modeling tools which are used to create different complex 3D models.

I see no reason why you couldn't use AutoCAD to create a 3D model of the objects depicted in your attached image.  I used AutoCAD to create 3D models for a specialty chemical company and had no problems.  The models included tanks, pumps, work platforms, valves, piping, steel work, etc.

• Like 1

• 1 month later...