Books for VBA

hairyuga

Can anybody point me in the direction of any good books for VBA for AutoCAD? I'm a beginner here and need some direction. I have the AutoCAD 2006 VBA book but I'm looking for something newer. I feel I know basic code and the VBAIDE prertty well but I need something with lots of code!!!

I would agree with A.Buckingham - I would choose LISP over VBA, but then there are rumours that LISP may soon be dropped also... So maybe you might want to investigate ObjectARX...

http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=715071&tstart=0

Here’s another thread that discusses the current state of affairs with regard to the AutoCAD api’s. Even though the thread is mostly speculation, there are a couple of posts by Autodesk personnel which state pretty clearly the ultimate (if not necessarily imminent) fate of VBA.

Comments by other posters to that thread implied a similar fate may be in store for Lisp. The Autodesk personnel didn’t confirm this, though they didn’t go out of their way to deny it either.

For the sake of clarification; my understanding of ObjectARX is that it is the core AutoCAD functionality made available by Autodesk.

Given that AutoCAD is written in C/C++, those are the languages with the most direct access to the ObjectARX and offer the most capability (custom objects and entities, for example). They also demand the most from programmers as all aspects of memory management must resolved explicitly.

The .NET languages (Managed) benefit from a good bit from the memory management made available by the .NET framework – thus one of the more difficult (time consuming and error prone) aspects of coding is removed. I’ve heard from sources within Autodesk (it may have been either Kean Walmsley or Fenton Webb) that implementing the ObjectARX via “Managed Wrappers” for .NET is a relatively easy process. In fact, I believe they described the process as “largely automated”. This implies that new functionality will be exposed quickly.