Self thought newbie

_Ricardo

Hi,

As you see I'm new here. please bear with me.

I'm a self thought AutoCAD user and been working with it for a little while but never got the LISP part of it. Can anyone recommend me a good book or tutorial to get start on it please?

Thanks!

:)

PS. I've been browsing around this forums... and I love them!

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Lee Mac

• dawn

• Se7en

• _Ricardo

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the forums, _Ricardo.

I'm going to assume you meant you are self-taught with AutoCAD, but I can understand why Lisps might seem confusing at first go (it's a whole 'nother language after all!). There's quite a few around here who'll be happy to critique your work and offer some pointers, but for tutorials I think most here would point you towards AfraLisp.

Hi _Ricardo,

I would also suggest setting yourself an objective, maybe a routine that you can work towards creating. There is a great sense of achievement when you first create a program from start to finish

In my opinion this forum is one of the best resources for programming. I find it very helpful reading and trying to understand code that other members post. You will be surprised by how much you can pick up that way

I found the world of LISP programming a little daunting to start off with but a bit of perseverance is well worth it

Regards,

Jammie

I would echo all of the above posts and maybe add a little extra advice :)

I started not too long ago, and, at first it was pretty daunting work - but you can learn a great deal just from dissecting existing LISP routines, and learning from the methods used.

As others have said, I would start with websites like:

as a starting tutorial, so that you can learn the basics to putting together a good LISP program.