+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,964

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If the use of standard orthographic views is not a problem, VIEWBASE is probably the faster, and as the projections it generates are associative in nature, one is assured that the projections are up to date (unless of course they have red flags on their corners, indicating the need to update the projection). SOLPROF is more intuitive and allows one to set up whatever perspectives are required. Yes, new layers (as in the other SOL commands) are generated, but they can be LAYMRGed into your chosen standard layers, or renamed to suit. If you rename the layers, those names will be used the next time you run VIEWBASE. VIEWBASE is used without the need of a viewport, but if there is need for a nonorthographic view, a section or whatever, one can be added in whatever way seems appropriate to a viewport on the same drawing layout. I never had too much luck with SOLDRAW & SOLVIEW, was glad to discover SOLPROF.

    So many different ways to go. To each his own, variety is the spice of life.

    Lamentably the VIEWBASE generated projections will not display on versions of AUTOCAD prior to 2012. Inventor models provide further enhancements to the VIEWBASE display options which are not supported for AUTOCAD models. Looking forward to improvements in this command, clearly in development, and will certainly get much better.
    Last edited by Dadgad; 8th Dec 2011 at 10:59 am. Reason: more grist for the mill

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    One can still make use of other commands such as SECTIONPLANE and FLATSHOT to create 2D geometry. VIEWBASE is just another tool in the tool box.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,733

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Every time you run SOLDRAW you add more layers to your drawing too.
    1. Not true, SOLVIEW and SOLPROF add layers, SOLDRAW creates 2D, the layers are already created. SOLDRAW all you want no new layers.
    2. More layers are not necessarily a bad thing.
    3. You are correct in VIEWBASE being another tool in the toolbox, one not really needed in its current form. If it is not compatable with previous versions, it is of use
    only to a very few.

    I would rather have the tools I already use bug free and improved.
    The only vertical with this option is Mechanical.
    I wonder why you cannot COPY?

    Like you said, we already have the SOL, Flatshot and Sectionplane, in its current form I just don't get VIEWBASE.
    Why not just improve it enough to replace the other commands and then release it?

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    One can still make use of other commands such as SECTIONPLANE and FLATSHOT to create 2D geometry. VIEWBASE is just another tool in the tool box.
    No doubt a great concept, but I say it is just another half-baked tool from Autodesk. It isn't about what it CAN do, it is about what it CAN'T do.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Yes, SOLVIEW creates layers and SOLDRAW does not. Let's say we create a Top view. SOLVIEW will create the Top-DIM, Top-HID, Top-VIS and a global VPORTS layers. Add a Front view and we get another three layers (-DIM, -HID and -VIS). Add a Side view and get three more layers. And if we add a Section and we get the default three layers plus an additional layer for the hatching (-HAT). Four views and we have a grand total of 14 layers not counting layer 0 and any other layers previously created. When the layers are created the linetype is set for Continuous and there is no lineweight assigned. I could envision a user who does not want to manage all those layers using VIEWBASE.

    I don't argue the fact that the command is not what it should be but then again I'm almost positive there have been instances in the past where AutoCAD has taken the same approach and fleshed out a new command either in an update or the next release. The software is always evolving whether it be good or bad is a matter of personal opinion. You are certainly entitled to yours and I respect that.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    Viewbase is just too inflexible for me, if it did sections it would be a plus,
    Maybe 2013 or 2014?
    I wouldn't expect to see it developed much further. I think the reason why they put stuff like this in AutoCAD half-baked is so their VARs can say, but if you upgrade to (insert Autodesk vertical product name) it works like you are wanting. You bought a Chevy - you want a Cadillac. (use other models in place if you don't like the ones I used)
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  6. #16
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    flipper's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win Pro 2007
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z77 UP5
    CPU:
    3770k
    RAM:
    16GB PC12800
    Graphics:
    GTX670 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Mushkin Chronos Deluxe, 240GB
    Secondary Storage:
    RAID0 - 2 x 1GB WD Caviar Black
    Monitor:
    Dell 2709W
    Using
    P&ID 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2

    Default Viewbase update and projections

    Ok - so thanks to all the above for the introduction to the new (for me) command "Viewbase". I've recently upgraded to P&ID 2013 from 2000i / Mechanical Desktop and had difficulties with XREF's not projecting using SOLVIEW / SOLDRAW command.

    FLATSHOT worked but has its limitations for my uses. I always found the SOL tools easy to use and flexible - something I don't find with FLATSHOT.

    VIEWBASE - Now, I notice that you all referred to 2012 versions of CAD when discussing VIEWBASE. Well, in 2013 there are now options for DETAIL views and SECTION views (of various types).

    I haven't tried to check compatibility with other (earlier) versions of CAD for drawings created this way as yet. There are (I've previously found for other commands) almost always workarounds though.

    SOLVIEW / SOLDRAW, I shall remember you fondly did me proud for 12 years but there's a new king of 3D - Orthographic projections for my toolbox, thanks for the introduction to VIEWBASE folks.

    Edit: Modification of projection standard (i.e. First Angle Projection / Third Angle Projection) can be accomplished by a couple of methods, sometimes though, the HELP files are hopeless for variations of CAD like P&ID which I'm using, for instance, I can't find the following HELP hint and you may also have difficulties:
    1. Click Layout tab Styles and Standards panel Dialog box launcher..
    2. In the Drafting Standards dialog box, in the Projection type section, click the desired projection angle.
    Instead, use the command VIEWSTD which accomplishes the same thing.
    Last edited by flipper; 12th Sep 2012 at 02:15 am. Reason: Additional information

  7. #17
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Landscape
    3D generator's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    generative design consultant
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Details
    Extensive experience in sitework detailing using AutoCAD 3d models as the basis for 2d construction documentation. I've been 3d modeling in AutoCAD since the late 90's. Currently transitioning to Inventor.
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas USA
    Posts
    41

    AutoCAD AutoCAD 2013 Model Documentation Tools

    I've attached a portion of Lynn Allen's Tips and Tricks for AutoCAD 2013. The model documentation tools are covered very well.

    Here's some of my feedback on the new model documentation tools.

    First off, what a wonderful toolset! It’s a vast improvement over the previous alternatives, FLATSHOT, SOLPROF and SECTIONPLANE. Everything was easy to use and very intuitive. Customizing the drafting standards was very easy to do as well.

    Here are a few suggestions to make it even better:

    1. Allow using xrefs of 3d model: I discovered that the associative dimensions cannot follow a 3d model that is xrefed; once the model is revised, all of the dimensions become disassociated.

    2. Improve the stability of associated dimensions: when the 3d model is not xrefed and is in model space the associative dimensions work much better; however, some of the dimensions still get disassociated after model edits. Others stay associated, but their extension line endpoints jump to another endpoint in the model. This requires grip editing and then reassociating the dimension to fix it.

    3. Allow editing of line weights in drawing views: I sometimes need lighter line weights on some of the line work in order for the drawing to read better; a good example is in section views where I want the objects shown beyond the cutting plane to be a lighter line weight.

    4. Allow hiding of model artifacts in drawing views: particularly with mesh items that have been converted to solids, you sometimes end up with artifacts that need to be erased or hidden.

    5. Allow drawing views to be created on more than one layout: it would be nice to be able to have elevations on one layout and sections on another; the EXPORTLAYOUT command allows you to export the drawing views to model space in another file where you could then set up viewports in separate layouts using conventional viewports. However, these views would no longer be tied to the model and would have to be replaced manually if updates occur.

    6. Allow perspective views to be projected from the base view: currently only isometric views are possible.
    Attached Files

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Submit your "suggestions" to the AUGI Wish List. Maybe some or all will be incorporated in AutoCAD 2014. You never know.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #19
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Landscape
    3D generator's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    generative design consultant
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Details
    Extensive experience in sitework detailing using AutoCAD 3d models as the basis for 2d construction documentation. I've been 3d modeling in AutoCAD since the late 90's. Currently transitioning to Inventor.
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas USA
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Good idea! I've done so.

    I also sent this feedback to my CAD reseller. He said he'd forward it to Autodesk as well.

    Thanks for the suggestion.

  10. #20
    Full Member PGuatney's Avatar
    Computer Details
    PGuatney's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Dell XPS
    CPU:
    i7 Quad Core
    RAM:
    16.0 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    Scratch Paper
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    PGuatney's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical Engineer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    Heavy Equipment, Pump testing Equipment.
    Using
    Mechanical 2016
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I like this command and want to start using it in production. Is there a way to control what layer the hidden lines land on? My plot set-up is color dependant, so I'd like the hidden lined to end up the color I want and the profile to be a heavier line weight. Right now they just match the shape.

Similar Threads

  1. Acad 2012: Viewbase command?
    By 43st in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th Nov 2011, 12:29 pm
  2. Changes to the SNAP command in AutoCAD 2012
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th Oct 2011, 11:30 pm
  3. 2012: SCREENMENU command is undefined by default in AutoCAD
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2011, 12:50 am
  4. Trace Command Removed AutoCAD 2012
    By scottish-lawd in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Apr 2011, 10:06 am
  5. AutoComplete Command Entry in AutoCAD 2012
    By AutoCAD Insider in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th Mar 2011, 06:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts