+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    210

    Default Scaling Problems with Layout

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Using the Page Setup Manager I set a page size of A1 landscape. When I scale my model in Model space to 1:20 (a small bathroom drawn metric 2m wide) it appears about 4 times too big. What could I be doing wrong. The units in model space is metric. It was initially working but somehow I must have reset something. Any thoughts really appreciated.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,366

    Default

    Attach a copy of the drawing to your next post. Someone here will take a look at it.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    210

    Default

    Thanks 'Remark' i've just come across your advice to ensure the scale is set to 1mm = 1 unit in the Page Setup Manager. Solved!

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,366

    Default

    I get around. LoL

    That's good to hear. Glad you got it all sorted out and thanks for the update.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,676

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by grain View Post
    Using the Page Setup Manager I set a page size of A1 landscape. When I scale my model in Model space to 1:20 (a small bathroom drawn metric 2m wide) it appears about 4 times too big. What could I be doing wrong. The units in model space is metric. It was initially working but somehow I must have reset something. Any thoughts really appreciated.
    Just remember the AutoCad Mantra. DO NOT scale in modelspace. Draw everything Full Size.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Layout scaling
    By Seth385 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 1st Sep 2011, 02:24 pm
  2. Scaling in Layout
    By JamesP in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2011, 09:37 pm
  3. Scaling problem in the layout
    By Clinton09 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th Mar 2010, 11:02 am
  4. How I can set layout & scaling
    By akbarvp in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th May 2009, 06:01 pm
  5. Scaling layout tab to 1:25
    By krimer in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2007, 10:08 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts