Curved text

Mason Dixon

My problem is we need to have the lettering on the concave side of the sign. How would I make the flat lettering I have in the elevation shot follow the curve of the sign in the plan view?

I usually do most of my autocad drawing in 2d, I've done a few things in 3d but I'm not that experienced. I say that because I was thinking maybe I could make a 3d model of the flat elevation shot and bend it into radius I need.

Whats the best way to make this work?

sign sample 1.jpg

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• JD Mather

• Jack_O'neill

• ReMark

• SEANT

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Is this printed, engraved or shape of text removed from material?

You could make the text a .jpg and apply as material or extrude the text (search here for methods) and subtract from curved surface.

It will be engraved in concrete.

I'm kind of lost on making the text to .jpg and apply as material. Are there tutorials out there for that?

In a modern CAD program like Autodesk Inventor you could do an Emboss (engrave) feature with Wrap to Face to have the text wrap the curve.

Students and faculty can download Inventor for free from http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity

I'll post example when I get a chance.

engrave.jpg

Font.jpg

Edited by JD Mather
Whoops, wrong font.

I think I would download 30-day trial of Inventor - the AutoCAD method looks too much like torture.

(Students no longer need edu email address to join Autodesk Student Community - any student of any age anywhere in the world can join the student community.)

You guys make it sound like you're having a root canal. This took longer to render than it took to do. Create the text, explode it, clean it up, extrude the text far enough to reach through and subtract it from the wall. Draw another wall same as the first, only offset the inside of the curve the depth you want the text and union them. Presto, engraved lettering. Ain't hard.

PRIMATIVE.jpg