Jump to content
Jozi68

mixed version of AEC objects

Recommended Posts

Jozi68

EVERY time I copy and paste something in my drawing, I get the following message:

 

"This application has detected a mixed version of AEC objects participating in this operation.

Newer AEC objects will be disallowed from participating in this operation."

 

I don't want to see this message anymore, can someone please tell me how to get rid of it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Jozi68

Thanks for the advice.

I downloaded and installed AutoCAD® Civil 2009 Object Enabler

It made no difference. Do you have any idea which one I should use?

I am copying and pasting in the same drawing, not from elsewhere.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ReMark

Exit AutoCAD. Sut down the computer. Wait 20 seconds. Start the computer up and open AutoCAD. Now test it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Jozi68

I tried shutting down. I installed a few more of those enablers. Still the same problem.

When I open my drawing, there is a message:

"To be fully compatible with this version, save the drawing from the ooriginal application as AutoCAD 2000/2004/2007 format with AEC objects exploded or with Proxy Graphics enabled.

This drawing contains objects from a newer version."

I suspect this has something to do with it.

There might be objects in my drawing that comes from 2010.

How does one explode AEC objects?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
RobDraw

Aecobjexplode

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Jozi68

I tried Aecobjexplode.

Unknown command.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
RobDraw

Hmmm. Works in 2008. I believe "Drawing True Convert", now incuded with "Drawing True View", will explode AEC objects if you convert to an early enough version.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ReMark

You obtained this drawing from an outside source?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Jozi68

I'm not sure what "Drawing True Convert" and "Drawing True View" means.

The drawing is from an outside source yes, I think it is from AutoCAD 2010

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ReMark

And the person who sent you the drawing saved it to a previous AutoCAD drawing file format for you?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Jozi68

No, he saved it in a future format. I'm using 2009, he's using 2010

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ReMark

He should have saved it "down" to a previous drawing file format and not in 2010 file format before he passed it off to you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Jozi68

I see. He unfortunately didn't, and he's away on holiday. I still do believe that if I can explode the AEC objects (whatever that is), and save in 2007 format, the problem will be solved. (At least that's what the message says when I open the drawing.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
RobDraw

It is a free veiwer/converter avaiable from AutoDesk.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Pstott

Try using the command "AECTOACAD".

 

This should save the drawing as a wblock and allow for copying, exploding, and editing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
mjh

I had the same problem since we install AutoCAD 2013 on one our machines. Ever since then, anyone (w/ AutoCAD 2012 or earlier) that opened a drawing that was opened and saved on the machine w/ AutoCAD 2013, would get that message. After a little research, I found that by purging the drawing, with the purge command, then purging it again w/ the -PURGE command, entering "R" for reapps, and then executing the EXPORT command. Once you've done all that, close the drawing w/out saving, and reopen, and it would be fine. I think you could just EXPORT the drawing w/out all that purging, to get rid of the warning. Drawings tend to get so junked up w/ apps and junk, that eventually they begin to crash, or perform poorly, so I tend to get a little OCD about them. So I purge the you-Know-what out of them. Hope it helps. Judging by the date on these posts, this might come a little late, but in the case you haven't or was looking for another way, I hope this helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ootn75
I had the same problem since we install AutoCAD 2013 on one our machines. Ever since then, anyone (w/ AutoCAD 2012 or earlier) that opened a drawing that was opened and saved on the machine w/ AutoCAD 2013, would get that message. After a little research, I found that by purging the drawing, with the purge command, then purging it again w/ the -PURGE command, entering "R" for reapps, and then executing the EXPORT command. Once you've done all that, close the drawing w/out saving, and reopen, and it would be fine. I think you could just EXPORT the drawing w/out all that purging, to get rid of the warning. Drawings tend to get so junked up w/ apps and junk, that eventually they begin to crash, or perform poorly, so I tend to get a little OCD about them. So I purge the you-Know-what out of them. Hope it helps. Judging by the date on these posts, this might come a little late, but in the case you haven't or was looking for another way, I hope this helps.

 

Thank you so much for posting this! I don't know what version my drawing was created in but this solution fixed it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...