Colouring 3d objects

dinarele

Hi,

i'm totally new to 3d modeling and autocad help doesn't help that much. I have the problem with hatching the objec and applying the material. I selected the material, so it would look like a stone, but i can't get the look to apear on screen. Could you tell me the simplest way to do it? Probably it is very simple, but i just can't figure how:) thanks

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ReMark

• dinarele

• Patrick Hughes

• Cad64

Top Posters In This Topic

You should consider renaming your thread to Applying materials to 3D objects as I think it better describes what you are trying to accomplish.

You have loaded the material (stone). Click once on this material and at the Select Objects prompt you should pick the edge of the 3D model.

Another option is to assign your material to a layer. Everything drawn on that layer will automatically have the material you selected applied to it.

Yep, i've tried to apply it to the face, but it doesn't show up. Or does it mean that it is already applied but I need to activate some setting to be abble to see it the object?

Have you checked AutoCAD Help > Materials > Applying? Read Apply materials to objects and faces on the Concept tab then check out the options on the Procedure tab.

I've applied material to the layer, but the objects on that layer just changed the colour slightly. I created the material which would have different shades to look like rough texture, but all I get is grey colour on one face and some yellowish on the other. can't figure it out, how can I make the object look like in the preview window in the material box. And how to print it afterwords with all colours but without hidden lines