Web Design Software input?

BWells

Hi All,

Recently my company has decided to update its web side because quite frankly it's bad, i mean real bad. They have been avoiding it (the update) for at least 3 years if not more and with a new guy in Marketing they have seen fit to just bite the bullet and get the thing updated.

The thing is that they don't want to go through a third party to get it done so in house looks to be the direction they're going. I've been pretty much leading the charge in redesigning our site and have come to an impass. I have little knowledge on web design and have no idea which web design program would be both cost effective and efficient for the job. So i figured why not ask the local guru's.

In the coding end of things:

So far i'm looking at HTML, CSS, Java script, and a little PHP for the base design of the site because of the dymanics and graphics that marketing wants for th base design. On top of that i'll eventually have to add some sort of database for customer log in as well. Based on my existing research i'll probably go with some PHP and SQL.

For software though:

i've looked into dreamweaver and it looks great but i'm not sure my company wants to spend that kind of cash on the software. i also thought about frontpage but i'm not sure if it could handle what we want to do with the site.

Any recemendations?

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• f700es

• BWells

• tzframpton

• CJJ

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Frontpage? Do they still make that? I would look at MS Expression Web and/or MS Visual Web Developer. If your company wants to do it right they will spend a little money on some software. I guess you could always grab NVU or Kompozer. I admire people who can code! ;)

Good luck