Correct way to build up model?

logictom

I am a electronics engineering student in a group who have designed and constructed a micromouse as part of our degree. I had the job of designing the chassis for the mouse, as I've never done anything like this I used sketchup as it was free and easy to use. The designs were used to create the mouse but now I want to do some analysis and produce some proper diagrams for the write up.

I'm using inventor 2010 demo and have watched a few videos and read a couple of tutorials and I'm getting into the swing of things but I'm not sure which way to go about drawing up the chassis. I've attached to a couple of pictures of the model in sketchup, it's basically a sheet of metal with bits cut out, some holes and a few bends.

Now my problem is I'm not sure how to go about drawing this up in Inventor?

The way I did it in sketchup was to draw the base and extrude, draw the sides on top the base and extrude, etc etc then cut out all the necessary holes.

If I want to set it up as 3mm aluminium so I can produce a flat image and do the analysis is there a certain way I should do this to ensure there are no problems do the line and it can give me all the correct bend radius for the corners etc for the sheet diagram?

Sorry for the long post, but hopefully someone can point me in the right direction:) Thanks.

chassis.png

chassis2.jpg

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• logictom

• JD Mather

• kencaz

• shift1313

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I would first start a new Sheet Metal part (.ipt) then use "Sheet Metal Styles" to set the thickness of the material.

Draw out the base (bottom part) and use the flange feature to extend the walls of your part up. Do the same for the top only changing the distance of the flange.

mouse.png

Then create your sketches for your cut-outs and holes either extruding them with the cut option or using the hole feature.