Grips won't stretch/snap

cuba_pete

I have been using for about two years now, but have never been to a course/class (unless you count AutoCAD for Dummies), so my language may not be *correct*.

Simple problem: When I select a line, normally three grips appear; the ends and the middle. Normally, when I want to stretch (resize) a line I click one end and simply drag it to the desired location. Often it *snaps* to another nearby grip point, the middle selected grip, a line that it crosses, etc. If I zoom in I normally can put the grip any where I want to. It has worked fine up until this morning. Last night when I closed the program it worked perfectly...first thing this morning it doesn't work at all. Restarting the program and the computer had no effect.

The grip will only snap to the other origin (making it zero length) and other random points nearby. I cannot make it a random length...it must snap to those other points, and it *will not* snap to the middle point of the line, which I do all of the time.

Did I accidentally hit a CTRL+ or ALT+ key-stroke which has changed the abilities to snap?

Please, any assistance greatly appreciated.

What osnap settings do you have active?

I have never really changed any of the default properties for AutoCAD, so *osnap* is new to me. I think it's easier if I just post the image:

osnap1.JPG

. If I zoom in I normally can put the grip any where I want to.

This doesn't sound like good technique, you should be using osnaps to locate geometry.

What are your F3 and F9 settings?

(I would do F3 on and F9 off).

Next post...but here is something really weird...when I posted and went back to CAD, it was working as normal!!! Then it stopped working when moving from one line to another. It keeps changing functionality while I am working...

I am sure my technique is waaaaay off...I have not been instructed or mentored in any way, shape, or form.