Drastic changes within the past year - Computer Question

wings

Last Summer I was all about getting Revit, and was asking for feedback from you guys. Now, half a year later things have changed. I since quit my last job, took on another job, and was laid off within 4 months. Now, for the first time since I graduated college - 1993, I am without work, or a decent system to even do work on.

With that being said, I do have some people that are willing to give me some work, so I have registered a business with the IRS, and town and am getting ready to move forward. In order to get moving fast, and effeciently, I need to purchase (or obtain) cad software. I am looking into the Building Design Suite at this point. I would like to have everything run through a laptop, but I've heard that such is not a good idea as most laptops are not well enough equiped to run cad effieciently. I am not sure if that is true, but maybe people here can give me some thougths. There were a few Samsung laptops at Best Buy that seemed to have the proper specs (and more) to run cad, but again, just because the specs are there doesn't mean it will work.

If I need to get a desktop system so be it. I have a credit still that I can use ONLY for computer and software as I did last summer so this will help.

Since I need to make money, I am just looking to go with straight autocad at this time as I don't have time to mess around with a new program like Revit. I am familiar with cad, and I can do decent work for what my prospective clients need.

Any thoughts on this would be great.

Thanks again.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ReMark

• wings

• Dadgad

• PotGuy

Top Posters In This Topic

Since I need to make money, I am just looking to go with straight autocad at this time as I don't have time to mess around with a new program like Revit. I am familiar with cad, and I can do decent work for what my prospective clients need.