Maxscript - Delete spline segments not working inside functions

niculaegeorge

Goal: Create a quarter of an ellipse, and elevate one of its points. :geek:

I’ve manage to make it work, but inside a function, everything falls apart.

Obviously from the code that I’m a beginner, so this is it:

Delete $*
 clearlistener ()
 function test var1 =
 (
 Ellipse adaptive: true  length:10 width:var1 pos:[0,0,0] name: "s"
 convertToSplineShape $s
 updateshape $s
 Select $s
 modPanel.setCurrentObject $s.baseObject --this line is optional
 subobjectLevel = 2
 setSegSelection  $s 1 (#(1,3,4))  --keep: false –delete all except second quadrant

splineOps.delete $ --everything is ok until now

--actionMan.executeAction 0 "40020"  -- worked for a while, then it started to delete the entire shape
 subobjectLevel = 0   --this is where everything goes berserk, I tried "=2" as well, still not working.
 updateshape $s
 --clearselection()

addmodifier $s (Spline_IK_Control helper_size: 0.5 linkTypes: 2 box:off helper_cross: on wirecolor: yellow)
  updateshape $s
 $s.spline_ik_control.createHelper  ($s.spline_ik_control.getKnotCount())
     clearselection()
 move $Point001 [0,0,10]  --point repositioning not working on the second run of the code
   $Point001.pos.z =10  --not working either when the code is run second time
 )  

test 20

Point repositioning in the last lines at first they did not work, then it started again but point002 start to move as well, then it only worked after the second execution of the code in a fresh environment. I feel like I’m in the Twilight Zone...

at line

subobjectlevel = 0

after the splineops.delete $