Aitocad 2014 after long time using 2007

sajicor

Hi

I used to work with 2007 version until a dew months ago and I want to see the latest one. I have a lot of experience from autocad 2000 to 2007 but I know there would be a lot of changes from 2007 to 2014 so a can anyone tell me the most important ones or the most importnt new tools? Maybe some book or something to get use to it quickly?

thanks

Edited by sajicor

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• sajicor

• tzframpton

• Dana W

• ReMark

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

The biggest change for you will be moving from the Dashboard to the Ribbon. If you do any 3D work you'll also find additional, improved functionality. The other big change will be Annotation Scaling.

My favorite single upgrade is the polyline midpoint grip. With it you can move a polygon side, in other words stretch the polygon, simply by using the midpoint grip of one of the sides.

2007 introduced the ribbon, I believe in the annotation and drafting default workspace.

No way the Ribbon was around in 2007. MS introduced the Ribbon in Office 2007 but AutoDesk did not embrace it until 2009.
Did I type a 7? I stand corrected. Version 17.2 release 23 AutoCad 2009 is when the ribbon appeared. Annotative objects were introduced in the 2008 release, in tandem with the self bloating scale list.

Hi

I used to work with 2007 version until a dew months ago and I want to see the latest one. I have a lot of experience from autocad 2000 to 2007 but I know there would be a lot of changes from 2007 to 2014 so a can anyone tell me the most important ones or the most importnt new tools? Maybe some book or something to get use to it quickly?

thanks

My advice would be to use the Ribbon and don't change it to "Classic". It's weird at first but the Ribbon is your friend and you'll learn to like it very quickly.