Using @ with dimensions

I've been using AutoCAD for nearly 20 years now, I have never used the "commercial at" or @ in my dimensions. My boss, however, swears by it and is still using it today. I find it to be rather archaic. That said, are there any of you other users who enter your dimensions this way? If so, what is the benefit?

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• RobDraw

• rkent

• SuperCAD

• tombu

If I am inputting distances via the keyboard with a specific angle other than the four normal quadrants I'll use the @ symbol without even thinking about it because it is ingrained in me. If the distance is on one of the four quadrants then it's drag the mouse with the right hand and input the distance directly (no angle) with the left as fast as I can do it.

When he types in his dimensions he'll type @0,21 or something like that. To me, it's completely unnecessary because I've gotten by without it for nearly 20 years. I have no idea where he learned to do it that way, or why he thinks he needs to do it that way. He tried to explain it to me, but I still can't figure it out.

When he types in his dimensions he'll type @0,21 or something like that. To me, it's completely unnecessary because I've gotten by without it for nearly 20 years. I have no idea where he learned to do it that way, or why he thinks he needs to do it that way. He tried to explain it to me, but I still can't figure it out.

Yeah, that is really bad dimensioning. If he isn't osnapping to the object or selecting the object then associative dims are not valid and any errors will not be found since he is over writing the actual length. Plus it is inefficient having to type that in which takes time, and you have to already know the dim in order to get that to look right. I haven't run across anyone else doing that in all the time I have been doing this ('88).