What is the point of...

A1DWG

"Nearest" in the OSNAPS. To me AutoCAD is a precision tool, OK I work in the Construction Industry, so I work to 1mm, the Builder works to 5-10mm. But why whould anyone want to draw something Near to something else, surely it is either a set distance away, at the Endpoint, Midpoint, Intersection of, but not just somewhere Near? I always suggest people dont use nearest, we have had several instances of lines being Near to the ends of lines, and dimensions Near(ish) to the end of that...

A colleague say he uses it when he wants to stretch a viewport, even after I showed him how to achieve the same without any snap settings...

Enough of my rant, anyone else feel the same, of have any other AutoCAD commands which seem pointless?

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• A1DWG

• skipsophrenic

• Jaelin

• Hedgehog

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

In all my experience with AutoCAD I can say with 100% certainty that I have never used OSnaps with the Nearest option. Never. Seems pointless.

e.g......

Command: Dist

Specify first point: nea

to Specify second point: per

to

Distance = 50.00, Angle in XY Plane = 162, Angle from XY Plane = 0

Delta X = -47.59, Delta Y = 15.33, Delta Z = 0.00

In all my experience with AutoCAD I can say with 100% certainty that I have never used OSnaps with the Nearest option. Never. Seems pointless.

I can't say I agree. I can say I have never intentionally used them though with 100% certainty. :)

If i've got two lines that ar offest from each other, i use mearest, an then per to find exact parralell distance. - especially if they are at an oblique angle - saves setting up a new ucs just for 1 measurement

If i've got two lines that ar offest from each other, i use mearest, an then per to find exact parralell distance. - especially if they are at an oblique angle - saves setting up a new ucs just for 1 measurement