Impeller Headache

DaleLloyd7569

Hi

I am fairly new to Inventor but have managed to figure out most problems I have run into myself. However I now need to model the impeller on the left of the attached PDF drawing and other than the main boss I really don't know where to start as it isn't a straight forward blade design. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dale

Impeller.pdf

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• JD Mather

• DaleLloyd7569

• shift1313

• Rob123

Ahh, I see the problem - your drawing is upside down! :lol:

OK, now that I've had a good laugh can you zip and attach the ipt with what you have been able to do so far?

that should be a fun one:)

it looks like you have some fairly planar cross sections to work with so thats nice. I would draw the 3 cross sections givent at their location in the plan view. Looking at your elevation view the lower edge of the impeller appears to be planar so i would create a plane, draw the top view and project it down onto that plane. You also have a nice reference in the elevation view for the cross section of the top of the blade. I would use all these in a loft operation.

Id have to sit down and give it a shot later(cant right now) to see how this would all work out.

...a quick 2 min drawing , its rlly nog that hard to make...

"rlly nog"? Looks like 2 minutes of work.

...just ^^ try to draw it the same way i did

I prefer a more robust approach - but I'm rather slow at 5 hrs effort.

Impeller.png

Sorry I didn't send you what I had done straight away but I have been trying the method suggested by shift1313, but with not much success. I can see by your image that it can be done but I have to ask... how?...is it done using the sections and a sweep because it wont work for me. I have attached what I have done so far

impeller.zip