+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 38
  1. #21
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    While the image looks OK a closer examination of what you have done can be best accomplished by posting an actual DWG file for review and comment.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #22
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Hi,

    I have attached the file. This if one of 5 projects I have to complete by June and they are killing me. I am not familiar with the terminology at all and have to look everything up. I know I have a lot more to add to this plate before it is complete, however as it is there is a few things I have concerns about.

    I am not sure the girders should not be seen, though I have included them as its easier to delete them than add them in. Also for the second elevation, the concrete slab goes slightly below the C-channels and I am unsure this is correct.

    While I love working with AutoCAD the terminology and the round about way Penn Foster describes their projects has me moving slowly through the projects and these forums are a lifesaver!
    Last edited by chloe2012; 31st Mar 2012 at 06:24 pm.

  3. #23
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Thanks for the DWG file. I'll be back with comments.

    What terminology are you referring to?

    A few of us here have some concerns about the Penn-Foster CAD course. I'll leave that discussion for another time.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #24
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Basic terms that I assume are standard in the engineering industry. I am in the Oil and Gas Industry as a geologist, but I have a minor in GIS and when I was applying for GIS jobs they always asked for AutoCAD, so I decided to do an online course and found Penn Foster, that and I love learning software. I have no engineering knowledge, so terms like keyway and other basic terms I have to google to find out what they supposed to look like. How they have information throughout the booklet is very confusing and misleading as to what information they want on each plate.

  5. #25
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    A couple of things caught my eye right off the bat.

    1. Why do you have a 6 inch space between the bottom of your slab and the 8" layer of sand below it? I would expect the sand to be directly below the slab to act as a support.

    2. You have concrete on the second and third floors sitting right on top of the C9x20 beams. If the contractor poured cement it would fall to the slab below because you neglected to include the steel decking that must sit atop the beams.

    3. You can assign a linetype of "Hidden" to the layer your C9's are on. This would still leave them visible but you would be indicating the beams are behind something such as steel cladding. Do I need to provide an image? The beams would also have to be shown in better detail (the flange) and the clips that tie the beams to the columns would have to be shown as well.

    4. There appears to be some rebar missing in your footings.

    Let's stop here for the moment. OK?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #26
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Well chloe2012 you are not only learning AutoCAD you are learning a little about structural, civil, and HVAC as you progress through each P-F project. Perhaps they should have included a syllabus in the project PDF file.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #27
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    30

    Default

    1. That's how I had it initially, then I saw a few of the drawings here and assumed I had it wrong.

    2. I did not know about the decking. I will add that to the drawing.

    3. I will change the linetype to hidden as you suggest. Would I also need to put the girders on a hidden linetype? I was going to show that, but I thought I had to show it as a detail on another plate so I thought I could have left it out of this drawing. So I will include that as well.

    4. I emailed the school before I founf this forum about the rebar, as I did no understand what they meant by 2" overlap in their description and am awaiting to hear back from them.

    I have seen in some drawings on other threads that a bolt is shown on this plate, I was unsure if to show it on this plate as I believe they ask for that as a detail on a later plate.

    Yes, I am afraid I bit of probably too much to chew. Now I just want to get through the program with my certificate . Unfortunately I can be a bit of a perfectionist and a nerd so I like things to be done properly as much as I just want to complete the program.

    Again, if other people haven't already, thanks for taking time out of your schedule to help us out!

  8. #28
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    As I recall isn't the garage supposed to be enclosed in vertical siding affixed to the exterior?

    The overlap in the rebar is when one piece extends beyond the end of another.

    The drawing is meant to be plotted at a scale of 1/8"=1'-0". Putting anything other than a line to represent the centerline of a bolt will be so small when printed it will appear as a blob on your drawing.

    Re: helping out. You're entirely welcomed Chloe.

    Disclaimer: Any images posted by me were originally created by another forum member and not of my own doing. He has given me permission to post images as I see fit.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #29
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    30

    Default

    So you think I should still show the ties and clips from the beams to the channels in this drawing or leave it for a plate later one that shows details? And just but a line for the bolt?

    That's what it says for the entrance in the booklet:

    A supply entrance to the lower floor is on the building’s
    south side. It’s a sliding glass door centered between
    columns 3 and 4. The rough opening for the door is 12′
    wide and 8′ high. Above the rough openings is a steel
    I-beam header, W10 × 45. The header is placed so that
    the flanges are horizontal and the web is vertical. The
    height of the header is 10 1/8″.

  10. #30
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The clips are sufficiently large enough to be seen even on a 1/8" scale drawing (aren't they 4x6 and 1/2" thick?).

    The line for the bolt, as you put it, would only serve to designate the centerline of the bolt. Again, at 1/8" scale drawing an entire bolt, washer and nut is not worth the time and effort because it will print too small to be noticeable. Save that kind of detail, well, for the detail. Makes sense doesn't it? Details are normally drawn at much larger scales to show things that cannot be easily shown at a smaller scale.

    Do you have a question about the supply entrance?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Penn Foster Structural Plate 4
    By wendymoose in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2015, 12:17 am
  2. Penn and Foster Structural Project Help
    By robxfinch in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 20th Nov 2011, 03:31 am
  3. Penn Foster
    By bracken2 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 9th Aug 2011, 11:11 pm
  4. Now WHAT IS THIS!> penn foster help!
    By paisis123 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Aug 2011, 09:02 pm
  5. Structural drafting project Plate 2 (penn foster)
    By ANC2008 in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2011, 11:47 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts