+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 23 of 23
  1. #21
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,795

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikep View Post
    ok first off. I asked a question about how to prevent it from saving during a command. If your suggesting me to turn it off, then obviously you do not know how to read or just like wasting my time. I clearly said in my first post that i do not want to turn it off. (i revised it make it even more obvious) i like to have it on. It has saved my ass a number of times. I have a butt load of ram and a very good processor and video card and it rarely crashes. I only mentioned crashes because it does happen but not often enough to concern me. Im just annoyed that im in the middle of doing something and it locks up and starts to save. The fact that i save to a server further slows down the save process. If your computer isnt powerful enough to handle an autosave then by all means turn it off. But mine can handle it just fine. Its just an annoyance to me.

    Obviously the answer is........ it is not possible.

    thread closed
    and you have recieved that answer first both times you have asked.

    The admin or a moderator will determine when/if to close a thread.
    Why did you not remove your threat, since you had time to alter your original question?

    Quote Originally Posted by rkent View Post
    Manually saving will reset the timer, so set the auto save time to 10 and hit qsave every 9 minutes or more often. I qsave often and especially before rendering, plotting, switching to another drawing. I never see the auto save but I still have it set just in case I forget that one time in three months to save often enough and the program crashes.
    Proves my point, autosave is not saving behinds as often as many think. Why do you think most programs do not have an autosave?

    I have seen crashes corrupt the autosaves, so whether you use it or not SAVE is the only sure way to SAVE your work.

    P.S. the first proclaimation from the OP was MAKE IT STOP! The correct answer to that is TURN IT OFF!
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Using
    LDD 2009
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    15

    Embarrassed AutoSave OFF Task Scheduler ON

    Set up a message/task in Windows Task Scheduler to run at your desired time...
    I set one up to start at 7:00 and alert me every 15 minutes:
    e.g. short message: Time to save DWG
    You can set it reset to your particular situation.
    Also set Autosave in AutoCAD every 30 minutes just for fun...
    If your job is set to work all day in the CAD environment it's not bad
    Not a fix all but it's something. Somewhat annoying but so is when someone expels noxious gas
    Last edited by stevedrew; 2nd Nov 2017 at 03:28 pm.

  3. #23
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,165

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by stevedrew View Post
    Somewhat annoying but so is when someone expels noxious gas
    or resurrects a six year old thread.
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. make a multiple point distance command??
    By raj banerjee in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 17th Feb 2014, 06:16 am
  2. Would like to kno how to make command line open up !
    By CadFrank in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25th Jul 2011, 03:04 pm
  3. Orbit command for middle mouse click
    By mtfer3 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Oct 2010, 03:20 am
  4. Autosaving Bmp Files
    By draughtsman2001 in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2009, 05:30 am
  5. Translate coordinates for make XCLIP command
    By ezkeniel in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2008, 09:21 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts