+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 23 of 23
  1. #21
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    juanjrvn's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Electrical
    juanjrvn's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Designer in Offshore Drilling
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    Electrical 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    Welcome to CADTutor!

    I'm glad you found the code helpful.

    Yes, the code could be revised to iterate all drawings in all sub-directories using ObjectDBX, however I would advise against this due to the fact that it would essentially lock up your session, overflowing the memory stack, or even if successful, would take an immeasurable amount of time depending on workstation specs.

    That said, it is technically possible using LISP... If you're serious about actually wanting to process that amount of data, I'd instead suggest we power this functionality over to .NET API for performance gains alone, let alone the ability to batch process in parallel (multiple instances at once), in addition to in series (one-at-a-time).

    Just turning in for a few hours of shut eye, as I have to be back at the office soon, but wanted to make this quick reply.

    Cheers

    Thank you for the welcome and your reply.


    I am interested in processing all 27,000 files, but it doesn't necessarily need run together all at once. The folder structure I'd be working with has 15 top-level folders; the largest folder containing about 7,000 drawing files. The rest of the folders each contains less than 3,000 drawing files.


    So would it be feasible to run the code 15 times on smaller sets of files? I could even break down the 7,000-file folder if I needed to.


    Let me know if I could provide any other piece of information for you to better understand what I'm dealing with here and thank you in advance for your help.


    Cheers!


    Juan

  2. #22
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by juanjrvn View Post
    I am interested in processing all 27,000 files, but it doesn't necessarily need run together all at once. The folder structure I'd be working with has 15 top-level folders; the largest folder containing about 7,000 drawing files. The rest of the folders each contains less than 3,000 drawing files.


    So would it be feasible to run the code 15 times on smaller sets of files? I could even break down the 7,000-file folder if I needed to.


    Let me know if I could provide any other piece of information for you to better understand what I'm dealing with here and thank you in advance for your help.
    It's good that you realize the need to break the task down into smaller groups.

    I suppose that implementing the option to include sub-folders wouldn't present an unexpected consumption of time/resources, so long as following the 'root' folder being specified, I first culled the number of drawings that would in fact be processed, and prompt the user an 'are you sure you want to do that' sort of message (if more than 100, 200, N, etc. are found?).

    Just thinking out loud so-to-speak, so when I come back after some production deadlines, I know where to pick back up.

    Cheers
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  3. #23
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    juanjrvn's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Discipline
    Electrical
    juanjrvn's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Electrical Designer in Offshore Drilling
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    Electrical 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    It's good that you realize the need to break the task down into smaller groups.

    I suppose that implementing the option to include sub-folders wouldn't present an unexpected consumption of time/resources, so long as following the 'root' folder being specified, I first culled the number of drawings that would in fact be processed, and prompt the user an 'are you sure you want to do that' sort of message (if more than 100, 200, N, etc. are found?).

    Just thinking out loud so-to-speak, so when I come back after some production deadlines, I know where to pick back up.

    Cheers

    What I'm currently doing, since I cannot change the location of the files in their sub-folders, is using Windows Explorer to search for "*.dwg" then copying all the drawing files from that search result into a new folder without sub-folders. I should then easily be able to run your routine on the copied files in the new folder. That's a good work-around for now, but it would be nice to be able to run the routine on files in their original sub-folders.


    I appreciate your help.


    Juan

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2014, 07:04 am
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th May 2013, 07:36 am
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Apr 2012, 06:38 am
  4. Lisp routine to print layout tabs and exclude model tab
    By jason_a in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11th Nov 2010, 08:28 pm
  5. Print Tab Names When Publishing
    By Seann in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11th Sep 2009, 03:39 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts