+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    207

    Default 3D Solids after Union

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    How to make the joining lines invisible please?3D Solids join lines.jpg

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    45,535

    Default

    Why? Will the "lines" be invisible when the piece of furniture is built?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,378

    Default

    Is there a slight misalignment in the pieces?

    Post the .dwg.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    45,535

    Default

    The one on the far left can be made to disappear if you union the vertical piece to the "L".

    Just curious. What is being modeled and what material (wood, masonry, metal, other) would be used to construct it?
    Last edited by ReMark; 14th Feb 2017 at 04:10 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    207

    Default 3D Solids after Union

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    Is there a slight misalignment in the pieces?

    Post the .dwg.

    3D Solids.dwg

    ReMark, there is no material attached as I only want to build a simple visual.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    45,535

    Default

    I didn't ask you if there was a material attached. I asked you what material would the object be built out of?

    OK...looking at your drawing I would assume the building is masonry and either concrete block with a stucco finish or poured concrete. Is that correct?

    This isn't supposed to be a house is it? The walls of the building seem to be quite thick; more so than the privacy walls on the exterior.

    The horizontal span that bridges the opening between the two walls seems too long to be only supported at both ends. How exactly will it be constructed so it won't collapse of its own weight?

    Why does such a small building need such thick walls?
    Last edited by ReMark; 14th Feb 2017 at 03:53 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,507

    Default

    Try setting VSEDGES to 0.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    207

    Default 3D Solids after Union

    Thanks rKent's suggestion changed VSEDGES to 0, but then all outlines invisible only panes with different shade of grey.

    I have tried also make changes to the Properties without success.
    Visual settings.jpg
    There must be something I missed.

  9. #9
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    45,535

    Default

    What are you referring to by the words "outlines" and "panes"? Are you talking about the flat two dimensional windows? You do realize that the majority of the inside of your building is one big solid and that the windows are basically drawn on the front and side faces. You cannot peer into them and see the building's interior. Nothing about the windows is really 3D.

    rkent's suggestion does work.

    VSEDGES0.jpg
    Last edited by ReMark; 14th Feb 2017 at 04:52 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,981

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    There is something strange going on with your model. When I isolate that curved piece, the image below is what I see. This is all one piece and is listed as a 3D Solid. I'm not sure what's happening here, but you might want to reconstruct that piece.
    Attached Images
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. how do you un-union solids?
    By dumfatnhappy in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st Mar 2015, 03:34 pm
  2. why I can't hide hidden lines after an union solids?
    By stenews in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2011, 08:03 pm
  3. Removing unwanted solids after union command
    By MARTIN PETERS in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2010, 07:43 pm
  4. Problem with union and solids
    By Yorick in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2007, 12:18 pm
  5. Creating a Union between non co-planar solids.
    By steamwise in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Sep 2006, 02:37 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts