Replacing a drawing

unheeding

Hey guys,

i have to give this assignment to my teacher and he takes off points if you spent a certain amount of time on the drawing (he's going to use time command). what i need to do is take everything on my file (model AND layouts) and put it on another file where my time (date created, spent time, editing time ect.) is perfect. i know that my file will count that as the "last time modified" but it won't matter.

So basically i am going to delete what is on the "good time" file and replace it with everything from the other one. How do i do that?? In the end it has to be the same drawing with the same layouts but with different time/date settings.

Please don't tell me it's cheating i'm actually a good student, but this counts for a huge part of my semester and i really need to get the best grade i can!

THANKS

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ReMark

• Dadgad

• unheeding

• iainlines

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the forum. :)

How isn't it cheating?

Expect a call from the department of Ends & Means.

If you are sure you want to try your hand at hacking the system,

you would do well to keep the original intact, and try your prestidigitation on a COPY.

Have you tried using the TIME command, and reading the commandline prompts, you might learn something.

Hell, I'm reasonably adept with some of this stuff, and I learned something!

Do you know how to use F2 to expand your commandline history window?

Understand that if you fail, the added time spent trying to subvert the

system would be added to the clock (which is one reason why you don't want to work on the original).

It's a pity you don't know a little more about the half dozen Autocad SYSTEM VARIABLES which are prefixed by TD.

Edited by Dadgad

I can't see my a simple Erase on the "good timed" file in both Model and Layout and then Copy-Paste from the original file doesn't work?