Autocad project I’m working is being overloaded objects

goforhenry

Hi! I’m not sure if this is the correct place to post this but I’m a graduate student working on a project where I have a 11.97 x 11.97 mm box that im trying to fill up with smaller boxes with sizes .002 x .002 mm, .002 mm away from each other in the x and y direction. Ive hit a point now where autocad has slowed down significantly is there any way to get around this? Any help would be appreciated! 

Have you tried the Array command? That way you don't have individual objects cluttering up your main memory and graphics memory. It might be cheating, but I don't see the point in drawing little boxes just to see if they fill up a space. That's a math problem, not a CAD problem.

Could also make the boxes into blocks, copy and paste them - the geometry is only defined once but displayed many times rather than each individual box being defined. Could also make them into a larger block, say 10x10 squares which will do the same again.

Then place them with an array.

I guess this is a practice exercise to work out the best way to draw these?

Yes I used it initially to get the first row and from there I would just copy and paste it above it and then I would copy those two rows and do the same thing until I filled the whole box. The issue now is that I still have so many objects in that box that its causing autocad to lag

A hatch gives a regularly spaced pattern.

If your smaller boxes were a fixed size, then a hatch definition file could be written which would show what I image you would require.

It all depends on even more information from you giving exact sizes of the smaller boxes.

11 minutes ago, eldon said:

A hatch gives a regularly spaced pattern.

If your smaller boxes were a fixed size, then a hatch definition file could be written which would show what I image you would require.

It all depends on even more information from you giving exact sizes of the smaller boxes.