+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 59
  1. #11
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    H2O.pdf

    This is a 20 scale on the viewport

  2. #12
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    If you can hurry up and reply I can do whatever you need done, Just need you to answer back.

  3. #13
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Plot.jpg

    I have no idea what a viewport is, sorry! As I said, I've only used AutoCad a few times in the last year. Previously I've just set the scale to either "fit to page" if it's not important or chosen the scale I want when using DWG to PDF. I ask it to print the extents of the plan. Maybe I've been doing it wrong but just got lucky! I've attached a screenshot of what I'm telling it to do. But as you can see, the preview is showing it really tiny on the page, and is obviously not 1:100...

    What I need is a PDF of the plan that when printed on A3 is in 1:150 scale. It's going to the council and they check it, so it needs to be accurate.

    Hope that's clear enough! Thank you very much for your help so far!

    P.S I'd usually just sit down with a manual or watch a tutorial to learn where I'm going wrong, but I just don't have time as it needs to be done today at the latest.

  4. #14
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Holy Moly!! lol Alright, give me a minute. I just had some jobs thrown on my desk so bare with me. Make sure to keep an eye on your e-mail.

  5. #15
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MillerMG View Post
    Holy Moly!! lol Alright, give me a minute. I just had some jobs thrown on my desk so bare with me. Make sure to keep an eye on your e-mail.
    "Under Pressure" - David Bowie.

    1:150 is too small and is not considered one of the preferred metric scales. 1:20, which is a preferred scale, would fit nicely on an A3 sheet of paper. At least you'd be able to read it.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #16
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Billy,

    Did you see the PDF I attached? Is that anywhere close to what you are looking for?

  7. #17
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Also, you should look into ReMark's post about viewports. It covers every aspect of it as well as making you MUCH more efficient in the long run.

  8. #18
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Sorry I had to do a house viewing. 1:20 doesn't seem right to me but then I can't get the thing to work so what do I know!

    If I print that on A3 and it's 1:20 when the council measure it, that's fine. I'll go with it.

    Thank you all very much for your help!

  9. #19
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Sorry, I'm confused by that. Does that work for you or???? A viewport pretty much takes what you have drawn in model space (which should be drawn to scale) and allows you to make it whatever scale you need it instead of scaling in model space.

  10. #20
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Since you are doing this in model space draw a 297x420 rectangle then using the scale command scale it up 20 times. Move this "frame" so it surrounds your house layout. Add a title block and border then print.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. batch plot wrong orientation!
    By jt6572 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th Nov 2015, 05:08 am
  2. Wrong Scale, Wrong Units IDK???
    By snakeyes in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2014, 03:55 pm
  3. Model Scale vs. Viewport Scale vs. Plot Scale?
    By Sbeth85 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2014, 04:32 pm
  4. Annotation scale - what am I doing wrong here?
    By Mr.Alex in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2013, 08:44 am
  5. Wrong unit or wrong scale?
    By annie26789 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2nd Sep 2010, 07:07 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts