Need Help choosing the cad for me

ptargent

i am a setting out engineer and i need to get Autocad but am confused on which one to buy! can you help me in chosing the right one. i need it to adjust drawings sent to me by designers and engineers and have to pull points of to put in csv file format.

Edited by ptargent

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ReMark

• ptargent

• SLW210

• nestly

Top Posters In This Topic

i am a setting out engineer and i need to get Autocad but am confused on which one to buy! can you help me in chosing the right one. i need it to adjust drawings sent to me by designers and engineers and have to pull points of to put in csv file format.

Welcome to the CADTutor forum. In the interest of keeping things nice and tidy it would be very helpful if you did not double post. It makes it more difficult to follow the discussion. Thanks.

Have you considered either Civil 3D 2011 or Map 3D 2011? It might be worth visiting the AutoDesk website and reading up on each to obtain some background information to go with the advice you get here.

Thanks for that mark. I have just come accross Autocad 2011 but im not sure, and its so hard to find a retailer in the UK that stock any of the products that im looking at to get advice.

You do not want to use plain AutoCAD. Some of the vertical products come with AutoCAD included and the user can elect to switch to it when required.

Well before you go and plunk down your hard earned money see if you can get a 30-day trial copy and look at the tutorials on the AutoDesk website. Good luck.